About The Ray Guy Award  

The Ray Guy Award - named for football's premier punter - honors the nation's best collegiate punter. The Augusta Sports Council created the award in 2000. Along with awards such as the Heisman Trophy and the Doak Walker Award, the Ray Guy Award honors an important member of any football team. The ASC presents the award live each year on The Home Depot College Football Awards broadcast on ESPN from Atlanta, Georgia. 


The Ray Guy Award winner is selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners. Punters are evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis is placed on the following statistics; net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, percentage of punts not returned, number of punts and gross average. For more information regarding the award, visit www.rayguyaward.com. Augusta orthopedic surgeon and sculptor Dr. John Savage Jr. created the bronze Ray Guy Award trophy in the likeness of the punting legend.

About Ray Guy 

A native of Thomson, Ga., Ray Guy lettered in both baseball and football at Southern Mississippi, but his football exploits are legendary. In his first collegiate game, Guy booted a 77 yard punt - one of three times in his career that he had kicks over 70 yards. His career average over three varsity seasons was 44.7 yards, including the 1972 season when he averaged 46.2 yards/kick and was a unanimous choice for All American. He capped his college career with a punt that went a whopping 93 yards. 

In 1973, Guy became the first pure punter ever drafted in the first round of the NFL draft. In 14 years with the Oakland Raiders, Guy was an integral weapon in propelling the Raiders to three Super Bowl titles and appeared in seven Pro Bowls.

In 2004, Ray Guy was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, becoming the first punter to achieve the honor. In August of 2014, he was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. 

All-Time Award Recipients 

2019 - Max Duffy, University of Kentucky

2018 - Braden Mann, Texas A&M

2017 - Michael Dickson, Texas

2016 - Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah

2015 - Tom Hackett, Utah

2014 - Tom Hackett, Utah

2013 - Tom Hornsey, Memphis 

2012 - Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

2011 - Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

2010 - Chase Henry, University of Florida

2009 - Drew Butler, University of Georgia 

2008 - Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State University 

2007 - Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech 

2006 - Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor University

2005 - Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest University 

2004 - Daniel Spulveda, Baylor University 

2003 - B.J. Sander, Ohio State University 

2002 - Mark Mariscal, University of Colorado 

2001 - Travis Dorsch, Purdue University 

2000 - Kevin Stemke, University of Wisconsin


The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast 765 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Thanks to our Sponsors & Partners!