Ray Guy Award

ray-guy ncfaa

Details for the 2016 Ray Guy Award coming soon...


The Ray Guy Award – named for football’s premier punter – honors the nation’s best collegiate punter. The Augusta Sports Council created the award in 2000. Along with awards such as the Heisman Trophy and the Doak Walker Award, the Ray Guy Award honors one of the most important members of any football team. The ASC presents the award live each year on The Home Depot College Football Awards broadcast on ESPN from Atlanta, Georgia.

The Ray Guy Award winner is selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners. Punters are evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis is place on the following statistics: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

Augusta orthopedic surgeon and sculptor Dr. John Savage Jr. created the bronze Ray Guy Award trophy in the likeness of the punting legend.


Ray Guy Award Finalists

The three candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. Three finalists are chosed through a voting process including head coaches, sports information directors, previous winners, and a selction of media.

2015 Ray Guy Award Finalists

Michael Carrizosa (So.) - San Jose State

Tom Hackett (Sr.) - Utah

Hayden Hunt (Jr.) - Colorado State


2015 Ray Guy Award Timeline

November 13 - Semifinalists announced

November 23 - Three Finalists announced

December 10 - Ray Guy Award Presentation (ESPN, 7:30 pm EST)

January 2016 - All-Area Football Banquet & Award Celebration

About Ray Guy

A native of Thomson, Georgia, Ray Guy lettered in both baseball and football at Southern Mississippi, but his football exploits are legendary. In his first collegiate game, Guy booted a 77 yard punt - one of three times in his career that he had kicks of over 70 yards. His career average over three varsity seasons was 44.7 yards, including the 1972 season when he averaged 46.2 yards per kick and was a unanimous choice for All American. He capped his college career with a punt that went a whopping 93 yards.

In 1973, Guy became the first pure punter ever drafted in the first round of the NFL draft. In 14 years with the Oakland Raiders, Guy was an integral weapon in propelling the Raiders to three Super Bowl titles and appeared in seven Pro Bowls.

In 2004, Ray Guy was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, becoming the first punter to achieve the honor. In Augusta of 2014, he was inducted in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. 



All-Time Award Recipients

2000     Kevin Stemke, University of Wisconsin

2001     Travis Dorsch, Purdue University

2002     Mark Mariscal, University of Colorado

2003     B.J. Sander, Ohio State University

2004     Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor University

2005     Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest University

2006     Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor University

2007     Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech

2008     Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State University

2009     Drew Butler, University of Georgia

2010     Chas Henry, University of Florida

2011     Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

2012     Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

2013     Tom Hornsey, Memphis

2014     Tom Hackett, Utah

2015     Tom Hackett, Utah



The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

We'd like to Thank Our Sponsors: